District 9800, Victoria, Australia
Flemington Racecourse
The Rotary Club of Flemington is proud of its association with Flemington Racecource and The Victoria Racing Club.  Several members and past-members have been associated with the VRC and the horse racing industry. The spring carnival in October-November each year attracts huge crowds over the four-day carnival which includes Victoria Derby Day, Melbourne Cup Day, Oaks Day and Emirates Stakes Day.

Flemington Racecourse on Melbourne Cup day.
Flemington Racecourse
Recent Melbourne Cup Winners.
Rekindling, ridden by Corey Brown, wins the 2017 Melbourne Cup , beating Johannes Vermeer. Max Dynamite was third. The sixth win for Lloyd Williams, who  also owner of the second horse, two of his six entries. This was the first 3yo to win since 1941.  Trainer, Joeseph O'Brien (Ire) was only 24 and he defeated his father Aiden O'Brien who trained the second horse.
Alamandin, ridden by Keiran McEvoy, wins the 2016 Melbourne Cup narrowly from Irish stayer, Heartbreak City. Hartnell ran third. This was Lloyd Williams' 5th Melbourne Cup and a second for McEvoy.

100-1 chance, Prince of Penzance, ridden by Michelle Payne, wins the 2015 Melbourne Cup. She is the first female jockey to win this prestigeous race. Second, was Max  Dynamite, with Criterion third.

German champion, Protectionist, ridden by Cox Plate-winning jockey, Ryan Moore, streaks home to win the 2014 Melbourne Cup by four lengths. Second, for the third time was Red Cardeax, with Kiwi stayer, Who Shot Thebarman third. Pre-race favourite and Caulfield Cup winner, Admire Ratki ran last and died soon after the race.

Second in 2012, Fiorente, ridden by Damien Oliver wins the 2013 Melbourne Cup. This was Gai Waterhouse's  first win in this race after trying for 20 years. Red Cardeax was second again (as in 2011) and Mount Athos third.

2012 Green Moon

The Lloyd Williams-trained
Green Moon easily beats imported horse, Fiorente to win the 2012 Melbourne Cup.  This was Williams' forth Melbourne Cup and first for HK-based jockey, Brett Prebble.  Jakkalberry, another foreigner, ran third.


Dunaden (inside) narrowly beats UK horse, Red Cardeax to win the 2011 Melbourne Cup. The second consecutive year a French-trained, horse has won. German horse, Lucas Cranich was third with last year's winner Americain fourth.

Americain USA-bred, French-trained, Australian-owned Americain wins the 2010 Melbourne Cup, MaluckayDay second and So You Think third.

Shocking 2009 Mark Kavanagh-trained Shocking, ridden by Corey Brown beats foriegn-owned stayer, Crime Scene to win the 2009 Melbourne Cup

Viewed wins 2008 Melbourne Cup Melbourne-trained Viewed (inside) trained by legendary Cups trainer, Bart Cummings narrowly beats Luca Cumani-trained Bauer to win the
2008 Melbourne Cup. This was Bart's 12th Melbourne Cup winner.

Efficient 2006 VRC Derby winner Efficient wins the 2007 Melbourne Cup,beating UK stayer Purple Moon.

Delta Blue Japanese runner Delta Blues wins the 2006 Melbourne Cup. Second is stablemate, Pop Rock.

MakybeDiva Makybe Diva wins the 2005 Melbourne Cup for the third consecutive year, a feat never achieved previously.
Join Us
Office Bearers
Guest Speakers
Club Hist
D9800 Banner