Posted by Lesley McCarthy
Members, friends and guests celebrated an outstanding year of service in the community at the club changeover on June 28th.  Ascot House was full of excited chat as members and partners caught up with the events of the past few months.
Guest of Honour was Past District Governor Julie Mason, who President Lesley McCarthy referred to as her mentor and role model.  Also in attendance Assistant Governor Ian Ada and Ann, Councillor Nicole Marshall from Moonee Valley Council and Danny Pearson MP for Essendon.

MC Cody Bettanin gave an Acknowledgement of Country and then called Dulcie Heard to light the Memorial Candle for Charter Member and Past District Governor Vance Hilton, who passed away in October 2018.
In her President's speech, Lesley spoke of the number and quality of events the club has been involved with over the year; she referred to two major events, the Flem-Ken Festival of Arts and Ideas and the Rotary Overseas Recycled Playgrounds project.  These 2 projects have involved almost every club member and a vast number of supporters from other clubs, service organisations, community groups and businesses.
Thanking members, Lesley and Julie made Paul Harris Awards to:
Anne McMahon - for her outstanding efforts on suggesting, planning, organising and implementing the Flem-Ken Festival of Arts and Ideas.
Anne Heyes - for her outstanding work in assisting with the organisation and implementation of the Flem-Ken Festival of Arts and Ideas.
Lyn Borghouts - for her skills and time in creating the coding for the playground equipment for RORP and for her monthly attendance at Kensington Market on behalf of Rotary.
Peter Donnellan - for his skills, efforts and work as Club Treasurer, especially the work in obtaining legal and compliance documents and work towards creating the club trust.
Jon Temby PHF +1 - for his efforts in Occupational Health & Safety in the Op Shop and the Fit4 Use Store and in managing the club's investment poretfolio.
Peter Cribb PHF +2 - for his inspirational and dedicated work on the Rotary Overseas recycled Playground project.
Allan Bruno PHF +3 - for his years of dedication, service, effort and support of the club in the Op Shop, Fit4 Use Store, BBQs, Arts Festival and at Donations in Kind and WERN on the club's behalf.
Roger Leask from the Rotary Club of Essendon assisted Lesley in the presentation of a Royce abbey Award to Cody Bettanin for his work on the Youth chair, as a Board Member, on sponsorship for the Arts Festival and with investment support.
Lesley then invited Assistant Governor Ian Ada to assist with presentation of Rotary International Avenues of Service Awards to:
Lyn Borghouts, Allan Bruno, Geoff Cawsey, Peter Cribb, Ted Frank, Anne McMahon, Paul Perrottet.
She then invited Charter members Geoff Cawsey and Ted Frank to present the Jim Hosie Trophy.  This was presented to PP Paul Perrottet for his years of dedication and work on the club website.
Lesley then welcomed the Board for 2019-2020 to receive their badges.